NATO Headquarters Blvd Leopold III 1110 Brussels Belgium Phone: (32 2) 728 4111 Fax: (32 2) 728 4579 E-mail: [email protected] Site: Western European countries were ready to consider a collective security solution. In response to rising tensions and security concerns, representatives from several Western European countries came together to form a military alliance. Britain, France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg signed the Treaty of Brussels in March 1948. Their contract offered collective defence; If one of these nations was attacked, the others were obliged to defend them. At the same time, the Truman administration introduced a peace project, increased military spending and called on the historically isolationist Republican Congress to consider a military alliance with Europe. In May 1948, Republican Senator Arthur H. Vandenburg proposed a resolution in which he proposed that the President want a security treaty with Western Europe, which respects the Charter of the United Nations, but which exists outside the Security Council where the Soviet Union was a veto. The Vandenburg Resolution was adopted and negotiations on the North Atlantic Treaty began. On 2 February, the NATO Coordination Committee held its 10th seminar on conventional arms control agreements, the first since the signing of the Treaty Adaptation Agreement on Conventional Armed Forces in Europe in November 1999. On 18 March, an international alert and detection exercise was held involving 16 NATO allies and five partner countries, INTEX 2000, to assess and develop methods for exchanging information on radioactive, chemical and other hazards. These extensive negotiations led to the signing of the North Atlantic Treaty in 1949.

In this agreement, the United States, Canada, Belgium, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal and the United Kingdom agreed to consider an attack on all and consultations on threats and defence issues. This collective defence agreement formally applied only to attacks on signatories in Europe or North America; Conflicts in colonial areas were not included. After the signing of the treaty, some signatories requested U.S. military assistance. Later in 1949, President Truman proposed a military assistance program, and the Mutual Defense Assistance Program passed the U.S. Congress in October, with about $1.4 billion for the construction of Western European defense equipment. In addition, NATO cooperates with many other non-NATO countries and discusses its activities. The Mediterranean dialogue was launched in 1994 in order to coordinate in the same way with Israel and the countries of North Africa. The Istanbul Cooperation Initiative was announced in 2004 as a forum for dialogue for the Middle East, modelled on the Mediterranean dialogue.

The four participants are also linked through the Gulf Cooperation Council. [110] In June 2018, Qatar expressed its desire to join NATO. [111] However, NATO refused membership and stated that, under Article 10 of NATO`s founding treaty, only other European countries could join. [112] Qatar and NATO have already jointly signed a security agreement in January 2018. [113] The new membership of the Alliance came largely from Central and Eastern Europe, including former members of the Warsaw Pact. Alliance membership is governed by individual membership action plans and must be approved by each current member. NATO is currently a candidate for membership: Bosnia and Herzegovina. Northern Macedonia signed a NATO membership protocol in February 2019 and became a member on 27 March 2020.

[87] Its accession had been blocked for years by Greece because of the dispute over the name of Macedonia, settled in 2018 by the Prespa agreement. [89] In 2003, to support each other, potential new members founded the Adriatic Charter in the region. [90] Georgia was also cited as an emerging member and was promised as a „future membership“ at the Bucharest Summit in 20